Toddler Must-Haves

Hey, how are ya? I know I’ve been gone for a hot minute (thanks mental health), but thats not what I’m here to talk about today. Now that A is a walking, talking crazy little toddler I’ve realized that I probably wouldn’t survive the days without these much needed items. I’m here to show you the specific items that I use on the daily, and maybe help make your life a little easier too.

  1. Backpack Style Diaper Bag
    How did moms and dads live through the era of “purse” style diaper bags? You know what I mean, it seems a few years ago everyone used the same style of diaper bag and it wasn’t often that I saw many parents using a backpack. I remember the trend of boujee moms using actual designer bags for carrying around all of their littles belongings. Now that I’ve been using a backpack style bag for a year and a half I couldn’t imagine any other way. I mean this one isn’t technically for toddlers specifically because I’ve been using the same diaper bag since A was born, but it’s needed now more than ever. Not only am I always needing to carry what feels like hundreds of A’s items everywhere we go, but I often find myself carrying her. Picking up and wrangling a toddler is not always easy, and having a purse style bag slipping off your shoulder every 2.5 seconds is simply rage inducing. I’ll link below the exact bag that I use, although I’m sure you’ve seen it at least once in your life. It seems these days about 95% of moms and dads that I see with their kiddos have the exact same bag on their backs as well, it just makes sense.
    This is the bag that I use.
    Its held up amazingly over almost 20 months, and it holds every single thing that I could need on a daily basis.
  2. Silicone Bibs & Suction Plates
    Lets talk meal time. It seems to be a commonly stressful time in most families households. These are some items that help us make meal time a little smoother. I mean ya its still messy, and difficult sometimes but I’ll take all the help I can get. First of all, silicone is the easiest material to clean to by far. Everything just slips right off of it with water and some soap. The bibs have pockets at the bottom that actually catch all of the dropped food, unlike fabric bibs where the pocket typically stays flat and closed. Also having the suction on the plates and bowls are a must. I mean she can still get them up and toss her plate if she really tries hard enough, but having the suction helps the bowl stay down while she’s scooping out her food.
    Here are the ones we use:
    Bibs
    Plates
    Bowls
  3. Elastic Hair Ties
    If you opt out of cutting your kiddos hair short, or giving them bangs than these hair ties are a must. From 1-2 our toddlers hair seems to go through an extremely crazy phase. I find I have to put A’s hair up in a little pony tail every single day, otherwise her hair is constantly in her eyes. I’m hoping it will grow long enough to tuck behind her ear soon, because I don’t want to cut those precious locks. We’ve tried the baby hair ties that are material but they just don’t hold, and A is able to take those ones out. The generic elastic ones that you can get basically anywhere work much better for us. I prefer the elastic to be a little bit thicker because it hold better, but any of these should work fine.
    Elastic hair ties.
  4. Diaper Genie
    It seems like a lot of people have mixed opinions about the diaper genie. I know a lot of people think that its just a glorified trash can, but I think that I have to disagree. In the past 20 months I’ve gone through two genies, so that is something to consider because our first one did break, but it was essential enough in our daily lives that we got a new one that same day. I suppose I could see if you owned a home with a garage than you could very well just put the dirty diapers in a trash can in your garage, but a lot of people don’t have that option. I live in a townhouse with no garage, and if i were to put all of A’s dirty diapers in a regular trash can with a lid, my entire house would stink in between garbage days. The genie really does conceal the smell for the most part, and we will continue to use ours until she is potty trained. I will add that the refills for the genie are kind of expensive, but some store like Walmart sell their brand of the refills. The genie itself is very reasonably priced, but the refills will cost you which is something to consider.
    Diaper Genie
  5. Forehead Thermometer
    I know that forehead thermometers aren’t the most accurate and you should ALWAYS consult with your doctor before making any health decisions involving you or your children, but for us the forehead thermometer has been a life saver. A is terrified of doctors, or any piece of medical equipment since her accident, (and yes I still plan to make a post all about it soon). So for us anytime we tried to use any other type of thermometer she absolutely lost her s#*t and flailed her body all over the place making it impossible to get an accurate reading. With the forehead thermometer all you have to do is touch it to their forehead for two seconds and it will give you the reading. I know it may not be the most accurate method, but if you have a child thats terrified of the other types it eliminated a lot of stress.
    Here is the one we use:
    Forehead Thermometer
  6. Socks with Grips
    This one may seem obvious, but its not something I ever really thought about before. Its shocking to me how many companies sell toddler socks without the rubber grips on the bottom. I mean, come on toddlers are basically little drunk people who are always falling and stumbling all over the place. I know A needs all the reinforcements she can get while she takes over the world, and thats why socks with grips are the only way for my girl. These don’t have to be a specific brand or style, but i’ll link some below anyway. Next time you’re buying socks for your toddler, make sure you double check the bottoms.
    Socks with rubber grips
  7. Craft Table
    A small craft table designed for toddler is a must in our house. A loves arts and crafts and for the longest time I would deprive her of doing them because I was always scared she would ruin our table. Once we got her own table and chairs we were able to give her the creative freedom without the stress. Since its plastic its easy to clean, and I love that its all meant for her size so she can easily get up and down from the chairs herself. It’s just another thing that helps to give her a little independence. The one we have is from Ikea, but I’m not a huge fan of it because its kind of large. I will link it below, but I will also link a better options for those of you with limited space.
    Ikea Craft Table
    Craft Table for Smaller Spaces
  8. Sleep Sack
    We’ve been using a sleep sack since the day A came home from the hospital, and it has worked so well for us. I think a lot of people think its strange to continue using them for toddler, but I promise its life changing. I know for a fact that if A didn’t sleep with a sack on that should would be constantly climbing out of her crib, and therefore I would get no sleep at night. Her sleep sack has helped us keep her in her crib (because non of us are ready for a big girl bed just yet), and its kept her safe. I’m all for safe sleeping and blankets are not recommended to be in the crib, toddlers are actually not recommended to use blankets at all until after 2. Our sack keeps our girl safe and warm and I really do think that it helps her sleep better. Sleep sacks vary in terms of material, warmth and price so you’ll have to do some research to find which one worked for you, but i’ll link the halo one below because not only have we used it, but it seems to be a fan favourite.
    Halo Sack
  9. Aveeno Soothing Relief Lotion
    Alright I know this one is kind of random but I swear this lotion is the only one that battles A’s dry patches. She doesn’t have eczema but she definitely has certain spots on her that get super dry. We’ve tried Live Clean, Honest Co, Johnsons and some other random ones and non of them make her skin as soft and hydrated as Aveeno. This time of year especially it’s a must.
    Aveeno Lotion
  10. Wine, Wine & More Wine
    Ok, joking (not really lol). Whatever your form of stress relief is probably the most important essential of them all. We make sure we have every single thing our babies could ever need, but mama don’t forget about your needs. The number one thing our toddlers need is a mama who takes care of herself, and her wellbeing. Wether it’s relaxing with a glass of wine, music, a bubble bath or anything else make sure you implement it into your daily life. Life is all about balance, and while we want to give 100% of ourselves to our kiddos, we need to save some for us too.

I hope this post helped someone out there, wether you’re pregnant, a new mom or even an experienced mama just looking for something missing. As always, stand together mama’s, be there for each other. help each other, and don’t be afraid to ask for help yourself.

xoxo, B




Published by

Motherhood in the Raw

Motherhood, Mental Health & Learning to Love Yourself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.